West Bengal held elections in eight phases. Voting took place on March 27, April 1, April 6, April 10, April 17, April 22, April 26 and April 29. All India Trinamool Congress & allies, Sanjukta Morcha comprising Congress and the left, Bharatiya Janata Party & allies and other parties were in melee.

Of the 294 constituencies, the elections were postponed to two seats due to the deaths of candidates.

For live updates on Assembly election results, follow Assam | Kerala | Puducherry | Tamil Nadu. For results and maps by constituency visit Assam | Kerala | Puducherry | Tamil Nadu

10:15 a.m.

Mamata routes in Nandigram

According to the latest update, Trinamool Congressional Leader Mamata Banerjee lags behind BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari by more than 1,000 votes at the end of the first round of the recount.

Nandigram was one of the main reasons the Trinamool Congress dethroned three decades of leftist rule in West Bengal. Fourteen villagers were killed in police gunfire and subsequent violence in Nandigram. The violent movement against land acquisition propelled Mamata Banerjee to power in the state in 2011.

The constituency has been the center of high-tension politics with the BJP aligning former TMC minister Suvendu Adhikari, who has represented the constituency for the past five years. Even Prime Minister Narendra Modi campaigned here.

10:00 a.m.

Bodoland and Bengal

Kamalshing Narzary, of the Bodoland Peoples Front, leads slightly in Bijni. Once an ally of the BJP, the party switched to the Congress-Left alliance in February.

The BJP and BPF parted ways ahead of elections to the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC), which party leader Hagrama Mohilary Mohilary led for 17 years, in December 2020. BPF was also part of the Assam-led government. by the BJP.

Interestingly, BPF was part of the UPA until 2016.


BJP: From 2 seats to contender

The first trends for West Bengal have come out. The ruling Trinamool Congress leads with two seats, while the BJP leads with one seat.

The BJP aspires to form a government in the key eastern state. The Prime Minister, Home Secretary and a number of Union ministers and senior ministers from BJP-led states campaigned in that state. In 2016, the party won just two seats. But in five years, it has 34 deputies, thanks to by-elections. Several MPs have switched sides, including Suvendu Adhikari, a prominent congressional leader from Trinamool.

The rise of the BJP also coincided with the demise of the left and Congress in the region. After being the ruler of Bengal for more than three decades, the Left Front failed to win a single seat in the 2019 elections in Lok Sabha. The Congress Party, the main opposition party in 2016, lost its place in favor of the BJP.


Historic towns of Murshidabad, Malda may hold key to power in Bengal

If there is one historical figure whose name has been repeatedly dropped in political discourse during the 2021 Assembly polls in West Bengal, it is Mir Jafar, the military general of Nawab Siraj-U- Daullah who sided with the British. At almost every political rally, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee called her own party leaders who had defected from the BJP “Mir Jafars” and “traitors.”

Murshidabad has always opposed the tide. In the 2016 Assembly polls, when Trinamool swept the state, 14 of 22 seats went to Congress.

Murshidabad shares its border with Bangladesh and has a minority population of 66%. Anti-AAC protests could also affect the results.

In the case of the neighboring district of Malda, it was once a stronghold of Congress. But in Lok Sabha’s 2019 polls, the BJP had a six-seat assembly lead, Congress four, and TMC two-seat. The issues that dominate Murshidabad are also the same in Malda with a similar geography and a minority population of 51.27%.

8:40 a.m.

Of the states that recently went to the polls, West Bengal has the most counting rooms – 1,113, according to India’s Election Commission.

There are two factors to this. First, Bengal has the highest number of seats among the states that have gone to the polls with it.

Second, Bengal is seeing an unprecedented increase in coronavirus cases this election season. The main reason for this surge is thought to be polling campaigns. The Election Commission limited the number of people participating in electoral rallies to just 500, during the latter stages of the elections.


Security provisions

The ICE has arranged for three-level security at each of the 108 counting centers. The premises will be guarded by personnel from the West Bengal Police and the Central Armed Police Force. Each counting agent must produce a negative COVID-19 certificate before entering counting centers. About 30% of the counting staff were kept in reserve. ECI officials said given the COVID outbreak this year there were more EVDs and counting centers and the announcement of the results may be delayed.

8:15 am

All eyes on Nandigram

Among the 294 constituencies of the state assembly, the most closely watched will be Nandigram in the district of Purba Medinipur where the chief and supreme minister of the TMC, Mamata Banerjee, challenges her protege who has become adversary Suvendu Adhikari of the BJP.

Ms Banerjee, who is seeking a third term, left Bhabanipur constituency in Calcutta to fight from Nandigram, the epicenter of an anti-land acquisition movement that catapulted her ruling party in 2011, ending the Front de 34-year-old left. to reign.

However, 10 years later, a number of leaders left the party and joined the BJP ahead of the election which was marred by violence, vicious personal attacks and jingo fulminations.


Start of vote count in West Bengal

The counting of the votes in the West Bengal assembly elections began at 8 a.m. under strict security.

The exercise is underway in 108 counting centers in the 23 districts of the state, where a three-level security system has been put in place.

At least 292 observers have been appointed and 256 companies of the central forces deployed in the counting centers.


While the Trinamool Congress is known to bring celebrities into its fold, the BJP has followed suit, featuring TV stars and other popular figures this time around.

Will he cut the ice or is this just another political party ploy that is sure to fall flat on its face?

Read more

Ground Zero

As the BJP makes inroads into West Bengal, Trinamool’s outgoing congressional government pushes back, even as an experiment in Muslim politics is underway. Shiv Sahay Singh and Sudipta Datta report the many aspects of a polarized campaign in Bengal.

Read more


84.63% of the 73.80 lakh voters in 30 constituencies exercised their right to vote during the first voting phase on March 27.

30 seats went to the polls second phase of the elections in Bengal where the turnout exceeded 80%.

A participation rate of 77.68% was recorded the third phase of the West Bengal assembly elections where more than 78.5 lakh voters exercised their right to vote and decided the fate of 205 candidates.

Poll for 44 seats in the Fourth West Bengal phase where more than 1.15 crore of voters exercised their right to vote to decide the fate of 373 candidates recorded a turnout of 76.16%

More than one crore of voters in West Bengal decided the political fate of 342 candidates, when 45 assembly constituencies went to the polls in the fifth phase. It recorded a participation rate of 78.36%.

In the sixth Election phase in West Bengal for 43 seats in the Assembly in four districts, with about 79.09% of the voters exercising their right to vote.

More than 86 Lakh voters in West Bengal decided the political fate of 284 candidates, when 34 assembly constituencies, including the territory of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Bhabanipur, voted seventh phase where approximately 75.06% of voter turnout was recorded.

Survey for 35 seats in the eighth The phase of legislative elections in West Bengal recorded a turnout of 76.07%.