Anjali Bhardwaj among 12 activists recognized for fighting corruption and ensuring accountability

Right to Information activist (RTI) Anjali Bhardwaj is one of 12 people honored by the United States government with a new international anti-corruption champions award.

The award aims to recognize people “who have worked tirelessly, often in the face of adversity, to uphold transparency, fight corruption and ensure accountability in their own countries,” US Secretary of State Anthony said on Tuesday. J. Blinken in a press release. .

Ms Bhardwaj was chosen as one of the winners of the award’s first edition, along with activists from other developing countries. She is co-organizer of the National Campaign for the Right of Peoples to Information and has been involved in the RTI movement for more than two decades.

Nationally, she has been part of movements to create legislation for RTI, Lokpal, whistleblower protection and grievance redress, and the right to food. She is also one of the founders of Satark Nagrik Sangathan and works to empower Delhi’s slum dwellers to use the RTI law to gain their rights.

“The award is truly recognition for the efforts of a very large collective of people, who are using the RTI Act to promote transparency and accountability, to fight corruption and to speak truth to power,” Ms. Bhardwaj said. .

“Around the world, corruption threatens security and stability, hinders economic growth, undermines democracy and human rights, destroys trust in public institutions, facilitates transnational crime and siphons off public and private resources Mr. Blinken said. “The Biden Administration recognizes that we will only succeed in tackling these issues by working in concert with committed partners, including courageous individuals who champion anti-corruption efforts and countries that strive to uphold their commitments to international anti-corruption standards. ”

The other laureates are Ardian Dvorani from Albania, Diana Salazar from Ecuador, Sophia Pretrick from the Federated States of Micronesia, Juan Francisco Sandoval Alfaro from Guatemala, Ibrahima Kalil Gueye from Guinea, Dhuha A. Mohammed from Iraq, Bolot Temirov from the Kyrgyz Republic, Mustafa Abdullah Sanalla from Libya, Victor Sotto from the Philippines, Francis Ben Kaifala from Sierra Leone and Ruslan Ryaboshapka from Ukraine.

You’ve reached your free item limit this month.

Membership benefits include

Today’s paper

Find a mobile version of daily newspaper articles in an easy-to-read list.

Unlimited access

Enjoy reading as many articles as you want without any limitations.

Personalized recommendations

A shortlist of items that match your interests and tastes.

Faster pages

Switch easily from one article to another, because our pages load instantly


A one-stop shop to see the latest updates and manage your preferences.


We keep you informed of the most recent and important developments, three times a day.

Support quality journalism.

* Our digital subscription plans currently do not include e-paper, crossword puzzles, and printing.