Sivankutty defeats Kummanam by 3,949 votes, K. Muraleedharan comes third

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) lost its sole seat in the Assembly when the candidate of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) of the CPI (M), V. Sivankutty, defeated Kummanam Rajasekharan of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by 3,949 voice.

The head of Congress and K. Muraleedharan, MP, who had launched a high-profile campaign, found themselves a distant third. In the constituency, which the BJP had dubbed “Kerala’s Gujarat”, Mr. Sivankutty received 55,837 votes, Mr. Rajasekharan 51,888 votes and Mr. Muraleedharan 36,524 votes.

Raised halfway

In the initial stages of the count, it appears to be a close fight between the LDF and the BJP.

Although Mr Rajasekharan quickly took the lead, Mr Sivankutty pushed him towards the halfway point and slowly pulled a comfortable lead as the votes cast from the coastal cabins started to be counted.

Reacting to the mediapersons after sealing his victory, Mr Sivankutty said the victory was a response to the BJP’s election campaign claim that it would turn Nemom into Kerala’s Gujarat.

“During the campaign, Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan said the LDF would shut down the BJP account in Kerala. We have now implemented that promise. Muraleedharan should resign as an MP if he has any respect for democracy, ”Sivankutty said.

In 2016, BJP’s O. Rajagopal won by a margin of 8,671 votes over Mr. Sivankutty.