The bypass was made necessary due to the death of TRS MP Nomula Narsimhaiah last December.

Telangana Rashtra Samiti candidate Nomula Bhagat leads against Congressman K. Jana Reddy in the Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly constituency by-election.

Mr Bhagat established an early lead as the counting began on Sunday morning. The TRS maintained their lead from the first round until the 13th round. Mr. Bhagat got a lead of 10,509 votes at the end of the 13th round. The TRS candidate received 46,523 votes and the Congress candidate 36,014 votes while the BJP candidate remained a poor third with 4,804 votes.

The constituency bypass was made necessary following the death of TRS MP Nomula Narsimhaiah. The TRS has aligned its son, Mr. Bhagat, and Congress, it’s senior leader, Mr. Jana Reddy, in the bypoll.