Ministers D. Jayakumar, “My Faith” K. Pandiarajan lose miserably; Udhayanidhi Stalin to make Assembly debut

The anti-outgoing wave has worked hard against the ruling AIADMK government in Chennai, as evidenced by Sunday’s election results, with the DMK and its allies winning or leading all 16 assembly constituencies.

In 2016, as the AIADMK government led by Jayalalithaa snatched a majority to form the government, the DMK retained 10 seats, while its rival managed to take six. Now the 16 constituencies are back in the DMK kitten.

As expected, Kolathur turned out to be a constituency of the chief minister as DMK candidate MP Stalin headed for victory on Sunday night.

In Chepauk-Thiruvallikeni constituency, his son Udhayanidhi Stalin comfortably won his first election to the Assembly. From a full-time actor, Mr. Udhayanidhi entered politics after the death of party patriarch Mr. Karunanidhi, and has enjoyed a meteoric rise in the party since then.

In fact, by winning his first electoral attempt, Mr. Udhayanidhi did what his father couldn’t – Mr. Stalin lost his first Thousand Lights election in 1984.

The constituency of Egmore (R), another stronghold of the DMK in the past, elected I. Paranthamen, who defeated John Pandian of the AIADMK by a margin of almost 29,000 votes.

In Harbor constituency, BJP candidate Vinoj P. Selvam initially led, but DMK candidate Sekar Babu picked up and continued to lead by a margin of over 27,000 votes.

In Anna Nagar’s constituency, DMK MP Mohan won for the second time, beating former AIADMK minister Gokula Indira.

The next generation

In Villivakkam, the candidate DMK Vetriazhagan, grandson of the former secretary general of DMK K. Anbazhagan, emerged victorious. In a sense, the city has started to elect the next generation of DMK leaders.

N. Ezhilan, a medical professional, won comfortably over BJP candidate actor Khushbu by a margin of over 32,000 votes in the Thousand Lights constituency.

He is the son of Mr. Naganathan, a close associate of Karunanidhi, who was the originator of the DMK election manifesto in 2006 and became vice chairman of the State Planning Commission thereafter.

In Virugambakkam, Prabhakara Raja of DMK, son of the leader of the traders’ association Vikrama Raja, won by a margin of 18,402 votes against Virugai VN Ravi of AIADMK.

In Mylapore, the DMK won after 20 years. “I thank those who voted for me. I also wish to send my best wishes to the other candidates. I will work to implement everything I promised in my poll manifesto, ”said Mylapore DMK candidate Dha Velu.

In Royapuram, Fisheries Minister D. Jayakumar, a local strongman, lost miserably by a margin of over 25,000 votes to R. Murthy of the DMK. In Velachery, Congress candidate Hassan Maulana led AIADMK deputy Ashok.

In the battle of mayors, DMK’s Ma. Subramanian led Saidai Duraisamy of AIADMK in Saïdapet. In T. Nagar, DMK’s J.Karunanithi was declared the winner by a slim 137 votes against outgoing AIADMK MP B. Sathiyanaarayanan.

The results turned out to be as expected in numerous pre-polls, one of which even showed an unbeatable 20% lead for DMK over AIADMK.

Some analysts blame the failure of the AIADMK government to provide better infrastructure despite the state government for 10 years. Most bridge work remains unfinished even after several years, causing hardship for several thousand motorists. With the exception of the Smart City projects which took off at T. Nagar and the near completion of Phase I of the rail metro which was designed by the DMK in 2008, the AIADMK government has failed to provide solutions. adapted to growing urban problems, the people said.

The infrastructure needs of the added areas were also overlooked, leading to a wave of anti-incumbency in the city’s suburbs and neighboring neighborhoods.