The opposition Congress recorded a spectacular victory in the elections held against 10 urban local authorities (ULB) of Karnataka by obtaining the majority of seats in six ULBs, including the Ballari City Corporation, while the JD (S) succeeded in win two ULBs. .

The ruling BJP performed poorly by securing victory only to the Madikeri City Council (CMC). No party won a majority of seats in the Bidar CMC. Congress became the largest party, winning 15 out of 33 districts in Bidar.

In elections held in 263 wards, Congress won in 120 wards, JD (S) in 66 and BJP in 57. Others won in 20 wards.

It is argued that the mismanagement of the COVID-19 pandemic by the BJP government and the increased suffering of the population in urban areas due to the strike by employees of the National Road Transport Company on the eve of the campaign were the main reasons for the decline of the ruling party during the elections, which took place on April 27, in the midst of a pandemic.

The BJP lost two ULBs from Bhadravati and Thirthahalli to Shivamogga, the home district of Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa and Rural Development and Panchayat Minister Raj KS Eshwarappa.

Congress gained power in the Ballari City Corporation, the CMCs of Ramanagaram and Bhadravati; the municipal council of the city of Belur in the district of Hassan and the panchayats of the towns of Thirthahalli and Gudibande (district of Chickballapur).

The victory at the Ramanagaram CMC seems to indicate the popularity of KPCC chairman DK Shivakumar and his brother and deputy DK Suresh in the district. The JD (S) won the majority of seats in the CMC of Channapatna in Ramanagaram district and in the municipal council of the city of Vijayapura (TMC) in Devanahalli taluk. The defeat at Channapatna was seen as a loss of face for Tourism Minister CP Yogeshwar.

The ruling BJP retained its traditional stronghold of Madikeri, winning 16 out of 23 wards. The Indian Social Democratic Party won five wards.

In the Ballari City Corporation, Congress bagged 21 rooms, while the BJP got 13 and the JD (S) blank fired. The independents won in five neighborhoods. In elections held in 33 wards of Bidar CMC, Congress became the largest party with 15 seats, the BJP won nine, the JD (S) seven, and the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul-Muslimeen and The Aam Aadmi party won one seat each. Congress is likely to come to power in Bidar with the support of AIMIM and AAP.

Congress won the by-election held in a district of Hallikheda TMC in Humnabad, while an independent won in a district of Hirekerur Town Panchayat.

In a tweet, Mr. Shivakumar said: “I ask the workers and leaders of the @INCKarnataka party not to celebrate in any way and to continue to help people the best they can in this national health emergency.”