Party and allies set to win in 37 of 41 seats in eight districts

The DMK has regained its supremacy in the central region. Of the 41 seats in eight districts, the party and its allies are expected to win in 37, at the time of going to press.

The front led by DMK which had lost its grip on certain segments in 2016 was a resounding success this time. Clear anti-outgoing sentiment, discontent over the agricultural laws promulgated by the BJP government in the Center, and poor rehabilitation measures after Cyclones Gaja and Nivar seem to be behind the defeat of AIADMK, as l he DMK-led alliance recorded great victories in Tiruchi, Perambalur, Ariyalur and Karur Districts. The Thanjavur Delta Districts, Thiruvarur and Nagapattinam, the once DMK Citadel, have returned to the party with the majority of its candidates venting off at home.

The DMK did a good sweep in the districts of Tiruchi, Karur, Ariyalur and Perambalur. Candidates from the DMK and its allies headed for victories in almost all 17 constituencies, including those billed as the strongholds of AIADMK. The DMK headed for victory in the nine constituencies of Tiruchi district. Tourism Minister Vellamandi N. Natarajan was the victim of a crushing defeat in Tiruchi (East) by Inigo Irudhayaraj of Christhuva Nallenna Iyakkam, who contested the election on the DMK symbol. The DMK candidate won in Srirangam who sent Jayalalithaa to the Assembly in 2011. DMK Principal Secretary KN Nehru defeated V. Padmanathan of AIADMK by over 80,000 votes in Tiruchi (West). Anbil Mahesh Poyyamozhi, a confidant of youth wing leader DMK Udhayanidhi Stalin, won for the second consecutive term in Thiruverumbur, by around 50,000 votes.

The DMK-led alliance won in 10 of the 12 constituencies of Thanjavur and Tiruvarur. While AIADMK deputy coordinator K. Vaithilingam won by a comfortable margin in Orathanadu in Thanjavur district, Food Minister S. Kamaraj and Textiles Minister OS Manian were to retain Nannilam and Vedaranyam respectively. , but with a thin margin.

The Minister of Health directs

In Pudukottai, Minister of Health C. Vijayabaskar led with 7,242 votes in Viralimalai at the end of the sixth round. However, the count was stopped for more than three hours as DMK officers raised suspicions about EVMs that were linked to coir. AIADMK and DMK agents engaged in passionate discussions on several occasions. Manithaneya Makkal Katchi leader MH Jawahirullah won in Papanasam, after contesting the election on the DMK symbol.

In Karur, heavyweight DMK V. Senthil Balaji and Minister of Transport Mr. Vijayabaskar were locked in a rocking battle. K. Annamalai, BJP State Vice President and former IPS officer, followed DMK candidate R. Elango by 4,544 votes to Aravakurichi at the end of the 19th round.