At least 21 countries have banned flights or placed restrictions on travelers from India

The Director General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) on Friday extended the suspension of international flights to / from India until May 31.

Regular international flights have been banned in the country since March 23, 2020, although flights to foreign destinations are permitted under special bilateral air bubbles that India has entered into with 27 countries.

The restriction would not apply to international all-cargo operations and other flights specially approved by the DGCA.

The flight suspension comes amid a sharp rise in the number of second wave COVID-19 cases across the country, as well as the ban or restrictions on flights / travelers to / from India by at least 21 countries.

In an order on COVID-19-related travel and visa restrictions issued on Friday, the DGCA amended its previous order and said the competent authority had extended the suspension of international commercial services of scheduled passengers to / from of India “until 11:59 pm on May 31, 2021”.

A few days ago, the Immigration Office released a notice listing countries, including Iran, Kuwait, United Arab Emirates, Hong Kong, Canada and Australia, that have banned / suspended flights from / to India.

Many other countries like France, Indonesia, USA, Israel, Singapore, etc. imposed conditions on travelers or a notice on their citizens asking them to avoid traveling to India.

The UK has added India to its “red list” and banned all travel from the country. It also made 10 days of hotel quarantine mandatory for all British and Irish citizens returning from India after suspending flights until April 30.

The Immigration Bureau said all Indian carriers have also suspended their scheduled flights to countries that have banned the entry of Indian citizens.