The Narendra Modi Stadium track has revealed that as the game progresses, the balls get caught and the batting becomes difficult.

Less than 48 hours after non-form Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings expected another front-runner Delhi Capital to finish second in the second half matches to be held in the Indian Premier League on Saturday.

After losing to Delhi by six wickets in Mumbai, Punjab have a score. However, some of the iconic bowlers in its weak middle-order looked to demonstrate their ability.

This ‘North Derby’ in Ahmedabad promises a long scoring encounter. Teams are able to shift gears with explosive power from their frontline batsmen. The major contenders of Orange Cap – KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw – resumed the race. There was no secret to his desire to mix with Chris Gayle and Shimron Hetmeyer and a high-ranked Nicholas Pooran desperate to end his poor form – dotted with four ducks – could have some bowlers coming under the pump.

To ensure a playoff-spot, a team needs eight wins. With seven to play, Delhi has five wins and Punjab three.

Obviously, the result holds more importance for Punjab. It requires the win seen last October with five consecutive wins in the second half of the competition.

As Punjab play their last five matches in Bangalore – against Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals in the final three – it gives a ‘house-to-house’ feeling to Rahul, Gayle and Mayank Agarwal. Therefore, Punjab is optimistic about its abilities.


Punjab Kings: KL Rahul (c & wk), Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Prabasimran Singh, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Harpreet Brar, Mohammed Shami, Arshadip Singh, Ishan Porel. Darshan Nalkand, Chris Jordan, David Malan, Jhe Richardson, Shahrukh Khan, Riley Meredith, Moises Henriques, Jalaj Saxena, Utkarsh Singh, Fabian Allen, Saurabh Kumar.

Capitals of Delhi: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Shimron Hetmeyer, Marcus Stoinis, Chris Woakes, R Ashwin, Shams Mulani, Amit Mishra, Lalu Yadav, Praveen Dubey, Kagiso Rabada, Enrich Narje, Ishant Sharma, Avesh Khan, Steve Smith , Umesh Yadav, Ripal Patel, Vishnu Vinod, Lukman Meriwala, M Siddartha, Tom Curren, Sam Billings, Anirudh Joshi.

The match will start at 7:30 pm.