KN Balagopal can get Kottarakara, the name of Mercykutty Amma recommended for Kundara

Mr. Mukesh and Mr. Naushad, lawmakers representing the Assembly constituencies of Kollam and Eravipuram, will enter the electoral fray for the second time according to the primary list prepared by the district secretariat of the Communist Party of India (Marxist).

In all likelihood, KN Balagopal, member of the State Secretariat and former member of parliament for Rajya Sabha, will appear in Kottarakara.

P. Aisha Potty, the current Member of Parliament, has completed three consecutive terms. The district leadership also decided to send Sujith Vijayan, son of the late provincial deputy Vijayan Pillai, to Chavara.

In Kundara

The CPI (M) has a total of five seats in the district and Fisheries Minister J. Mercykutty Amma is likely to challenge from Kundara if the party approves the district secretariat’s recommendation and decides to relax the guidelines for it. One of two women ministers in the state cabinet, her name was recommended given her chances of winning.

According to party guidelines, leaders who have disputed and won assembly elections twice are not expected to run again and there is also pressure to include more new faces on the list of candidates.

The Secretary of State will take the final call for candidates by the first week of March and if Ms. Mercykutty Amma’s candidacy is rejected, Chintha Jerome and SL Sajikumar are the other names doing the rounds.

The left-wing coalition won all assembly seats in the district in 2016 and the leadership is keen to prepare a strong candidate slate to retain the fortress.

Ganesh in Pathanapuram

While KB Ganesh Kumar of the Kerala Congress (B) will run again in Pathanapuram, the LDF will support Kovoor Kunjumon, the leader of the Revolutionary Socialist Party (Leninist) who has won four consecutive terms from Kunnathur.

Although the Kerala (B) Congress sought a second seat in Kottarakara, the Left Democratic Front could not accommodate it.

Since the Communist Party of India (CPI) has also decided not to field leaders who have quarreled more than three times, Forestry Minister K. Raju cannot run from Punalur and the odds are very dire for him. deputy for Chadayamangalam Mullakkara Ratnakaran to also be in the fray again.

You’ve reached your free item limit this month.

Membership benefits include

Today’s paper

Find a mobile version of daily newspaper articles in an easy-to-read list.

Unlimited access

Enjoy reading as many articles as you want without any limitations.

Personalized recommendations

A shortlist of items that match your interests and tastes.

Faster pages

Switch easily from one article to another, because our pages load instantly


A one-stop shop to see the latest updates and manage your preferences.


We keep you informed of the most recent and important developments, three times a day.

Support quality journalism.

* Our digital subscription plans currently do not include e-paper, crossword puzzles, and printing.