Pondicherry: The AINRC-led NDA appeared poised to seize power in Pondicherry by winning 13 assembly seats and leading in two when the results of 22 of the total 30 segments were announced on Sunday.

The congressional-led front emerged victorious in five constituencies and the independents in four as the counting of the votes in the April 6 election was still underway.

According to the Electoral Commission, the AINRC won 10, the BJP three, the DMK three, the Congress two and the independents four.

AINRC leader and former chief minister N Rangasamy triumphed in Thattanchavady constituency and wrested the seat from the DMK.

Rangasamy aspired to annex two segments – Thattanchavady and Yanam – in the April 6 polls.

However, his decision to be elected by Yanam seemed to him to be a long way off, as Congress-backed independent candidate Gollapalli Srinivas Ashok proved to be a formidable rival.

The Thattanchavady segment in Pondicherry drew cheers from Rangasamy as he annexed the seat with a margin of 5,456 votes over his immediate IPC rival K Sethu aka Sethu Selvam.

A BJP Namassivayam emerged victorious from Mannadipet constituency after defeating rival DMK A Krishnan.

Namassivayam, who shifted his allegiance to the Saffron party in January this year after leaving Congress, challenged the April 6 ballot from Mannadipet’s seat as the BJP candidate.

The former minister won 14,939 votes while his rival won 12,189 votes.

Green horn in the electoral battle, AINRC’s U Lakshmikandhan snatched the Embalam (reserved) segment of Congress by beating his candidate and former Minister of Welfare Mr. Kandasamy.

Chief Electoral Officer Shurbir Singh told PTI that BJP candidate A John Kumar had been declared elected from Kamaraj Nagar.

Kumar defeated his immediate rival in Congress and former MOHF Industries Minister Shah Jahan.

John Kumar was elected from Kamaraj Nagar in the by-election held in November 2019 on the Congress ticket.

He has now kept the segment but on a different party ticket.

Kumar joined the BJP in February after leaving Congress and contested the April 6 poll with the former Minister of Industry.

Mr. Vaithianathan of Congress beat V Saminathan of BJP, who is chairman of the party’s Pondicherry Unit, by a margin of 5,652 votes in Lawspet constituency.

Saminathan was one of the legislators appointed to the outgoing Assembly.

Vaithianathan left AINRC a few months ago and joined Congress.

Sixteen seats are required for a simple majority in the assembly of 30 members.