A total of 167 voters in the Edappadi assembly constituency rejected all running candidates, including Tamil Nadu Chief Minister K. Palaniswami.

According to data from the Election Commission, 167 voters in Edappadi headquarters pressed the NOTA button, or none of the above candidates, in EVMs on April 6.

Palaniswami, also AIADMK’s Joint Coordinator, racked up a comfortable lead of around 20,000 votes against his closest rival, DMK’s T. Sambathkumar.

On the other hand, 110 voters in the Kolathur assembly constituency pressed the NOTA button and rejected the running candidates, including DMK chairman MK Stalin.

The DMK leads in 118 segments, the minimum for a simple majority in the Tamil Nadu Assembly (234 members) and its allies in 19, giving the front comfortable leeway as the vote count progressed Sunday for the elections to the April 6 Assembly.

Victory in 118 of the 234 constituencies in total will guarantee a simple majority.

A key indicator of trends available to date is that AIADMK has remained a force to be reckoned with despite the burden of a 10-year anti-incumbency.

Various exit polls had predicted a landslide for the DMK and with its allies, up to a maximum of 200 seats.

The two main leaders of AIADMK, Chief Minister K Palaniswami and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam lead in their respective segments of Edappadi (Salem district) and Bodinayakanur (Theni).

Opposition leader and DMK chairman MK Stalin was leading in the Kolathur constituency here and his son and secretary of the youth wing of the Udhayanidhi Stalin party in the Chepauk-Triplican segment.

The counting exercise is estimated to be completed after anywhere between a minimum of 13 and a maximum of 43 rounds – depending on the votes cast in each segment – in each of the 234 Assembly segments.