The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) recorded a landslide victory in the Khammam Municipal Corporation (KMC) election, winning 43 of 60 constituencies.

The TRS reiterated its feat of impressive victory in the first KMC elections held in March 2016, thus retaining its grip on the ULB for a second consecutive term.

The municipality of Khammam was transformed into a municipal corporation in October 2012, in the then united Andhra Pradesh.

Drawing inspiration from development, the ruling TRS maintained their dominance by winning 43 of the 57 quarters they contested. The ruling party won the 10th room unanimously.

TRS is poised to win the coveted post of Women-Only Mayor (General). The CPI, which contested from three neighborhoods in connection with the ruling TRS, bagged all three neighborhoods.

The Congress Party managed to win nine neighborhoods and its ally CPI (M) won two.

The BJP suffered a major setback, with the party winning only one neighborhood out of the 47 neighborhoods it contested in the KMC elections. Independent candidates won two quarters.

The TRS won three quarters by a mustache. Its candidates from the 33rd, 45th and 15th constituencies won by a narrow margin of 27, 34 and 37 votes respectively, according to sources.

The IPC (M) candidates lost the election in a few quarters by a narrow margin.

Minority Welfare Department Secretary Ahmed Nadeem, General Observer for the KMC Election, along with collector RV Karnan, oversaw the counting process at SR & BGNR College, held in accordance with security protocols COVID-19.