Karnataka’s chief minister, BS Yediyurappa, on Sunday carried out a slight cabinet renewal by assigning responsibility for the district to six ministers.

The exercise is seen as an exercise to ensure smooth management of COVID in the districts.

In accordance with the notification issued by the government, Deputy Chief Minister Govind Karjol, who holds the public works portfolio, will be in charge of Belagavi.

He was the minister responsible for the Bagalkote and Kalaburagi district.

As the minister responsible for Belagavi, he will replace Ramesh Jarkiholi, who had to step down due to the alleged sex-for-work scandal on March 3.

The Minister of Food and Civilian Supplies, Umesh Katti, will be in charge of the Bagalkote district, while the Minister of Mines and Geology, Murugesh Nirani, will take charge of the Kalaburagi district.

Read also | COVID-19 | Karnataka to cap the price of CT scans at private facilities

The Minister of Forestry, Kannada and Culture, Aravind Limbavali, will be in charge of Bidar district, which was previously held by Minister of Livestock Prabhu Chavan.

The Minister of Urban Development and Sugar MTB Nagaraj has been appointed Minister responsible for Kolar District.

Previously, H Nagesh was the responsible minister, who was removed from the cabinet ahead of the cabinet expansion and renewal in January.

The Minister of Fisheries and Ports, S Angara, will be in charge of the Chikkamagaluru district.

The district had no minister in charge before.